My Current Situation

I think it’s nice to be able to be a bit personal with my readers, so I would like to give you all a bit of insight into my current situation with gold in World of Warcraft.
It’s not the best, there are many players who have far more greater amounts of gold than me, however I’m more limited by the amount of time that I have to play, than by the amount of knowledge and skills that I have.

My Characters and their Profession Combinations

I have been playing on the US WoW servers since the beginning of Pre-BC up until January 2009. In January (about mid WOTLK – around early TOC time)) I made the huge big move from US to the EU servers for a better timezone. Naturally I lost all of my characters and had to start over.

  • Level 85 Shaman – Inscription and Enchanting
  • Level 85 Warrior – Jewelcrafting and Blacksmithing
  • Level 83 Paladin – Mining
  • Level 80 Death Knight – Herbalism and Alchemy
  • Level 68 Druid – Tailoring (only just high enough for netherweave bags haha)

Between my two accounts my other noteworthy alts are Level 60 Priest (no profs), Level 55 Warrior (no profs), Level 15 Rogue (level 5-10 mining and skinning), Level 70 Mage (no profs). So I need to work on getting those up to 84ish or higher in order to benefit fully from their profession slots.

At the moment I am perfectly happy with my current professions (I’ve actually never dealt with Engineering, Skinning or Leatherworking much in terms of making gold), so I don’t have much experience with them but I have definitely seen some great opportunities out there.

My Ideal Character and Profession Setup

I think my ideal setup would look something like this:

  • First Level 85 – Inscription and Enchanting (though Enchanting + Eng or Alch has been profitable in the past so might be in the future somehow too)
  • Second Level 85 – Jewelcrafting + Blacksmithing
  • Third Level 85 – Mining + Herbalism (preferably on a druid)
  • Fourth Level 85 – Alchemy + Engineering
  • Fifth Level 85 – Alchemy + Tailoring
  • Sixth Level 85 – Alchemy + Engineering
  • Seventh Level 85 – Skinning + Leatherworking
  • Eight Level 85 – Alchemy + Jewelcrafting/Tailoring
  • Ninth Level 85 – Alchemy + Jewelcrafting

Having more than 1 Alchemist is obvious, for the transmutes, and the multiple Engineering and Tailoring are for the different specializations. The Triple JC is for the tokens, so that if Blizzard ever add new JC recipes (even if you don’t use the current tokens for them) I will be able to cover the market quicker than more people.

Current Gold

Here is what BigPicture has to say:

323,044gold on my main character, with a networth of around 400,000gold in total on my main account. Second account probably has about 5-10k, not much.

It definitely gets easier to make more gold, the more gold you have – basics of Economies of Scale, so I shouldn’t take too long for me to reach my short term goal of about half a million. Lately I’ve been spending more time investigating different markets and strategies than actually employing them, but I hope to share some of my progress on my blog soon!

  1. My family every time say that I am killing my time here at web, but
    I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading thes pleasant articles.

  1. October 28th, 2011

Leave a Reply

